Is GCSE same as O level?

Asked by: Prof. Edwardo Schuppe  |  Last update: June 16, 2022
Score: 4.5/5 (13 votes)

In the mid 1960s, the Certificate of Secondary Education (CSE) was separately introduced as being equivalent to the O Levels. In the mid 1980s, however, the GCE O Levels and CSE boards merged to offer the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) instead.

Are O-Levels harder than GCSEs?

If you are asking: “Was it harder to get an A on O-Levels compared to GCSEs?” the answer is: Yes, it was harder to get a high grade on O-Levels rather than GCSEs. This is because grades for O-Levels were norm-referenced meaning only a set number of students could ever achieve the highest grade.

What is the difference between GCSE and Olevel?

GCSEs are typically for people ages 14–16. And a-levels are for typically for people ages 16–18 and come after GCSEs. Therefore, a-levels are harder than GCSEs and the qualification is more important. GCSE is what you sit aged 15–16, in all school subjects.

When did O level become GCSE?

The General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level (O level) was a qualification offered from 1951 until the introduction of the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) in 1986.

What level is a GCSE?

Level 2 qualifications are: CSE - grade 1. GCSE - grades 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4 or grades A*, A, B, C. intermediate apprenticeship.

What is the difference between GCSE, IGCSE & Olevels

24 related questions found

What is a GCSE equivalent to?

NVQs at levels 1 and 2 are the most equivalent to GCSEs. NVQs at level 3 is equivalent to 2 A levels. Taking NVQs at level 4 is equivalent to a higher education certificate, while NVQs at level 5 are equivalent to a higher education diploma.

What are O levels called now?

The GCE Ordinary Level (known as the O-Level) was abolished in 1987 and replaced by the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). The change was made to create a national qualification for those who wanted to leave school at 16 without attempting A-levels or pursuing a university education.

Which is higher A-Levels or GCSE?

A-Levels, short for Advanced Levels, are a higher qualification than the GCSEs. A-Levels are subject-based qualifications that are divided into two stages. ... Students study 3 or more A-Levels over two years. At the end of each stage, students must take their exams.

Is GCSE maths harder than O level?

O levels were much harder, and aimed at the top 25% or so of children, whereas CSEs were introduced to enable other children to obtain a formal qualification at 16, rather than leaving school with nothing.

What year did O levels end?

Wider-ranging exam

It was in 1988 that 37 years of O-levels came to an end, under the stewardship of education reformer Kenneth – now Lord – Baker, based on legislation begun by his predecessor, Sir Keith Joseph.

How many GCSEs do you sit?

The vast majority of students will study 9 GCSEs. They will be awarded five GCSEs in the core subjects - English Language, English Literature, Maths, Science (2 GCSEs)- and they will then supplement that with the 4 GCSEs they will be awarded in their 4 option subjects. 2.

Is GCSE equivalent to Waec?

The West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) or the Senior School Certificate Examination (SSCE) are acceptable in place of GCSE Maths. A Grade of B3 is required for GCSE Grade B/5 and a B2 for Grade A/7.

What level is a BTEC?

BTEC Nationals are available from Level 3 (similar standard to A levels). Many of these are well regarded by universities, further education colleges, and employers. A BTEC National qualification can lead to employment, continuing study, or professional development programmes.

What are the different levels of education in UK?

The education system in the UK is divided into four main parts, primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the UK have to legally attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until the student is 16 years old.

Is SPM O level?

The pre-university certificate is the next most appropriate qualification for students who have completed grade 11 (SPM or GSCE O-level) and wish to pursue a university bachelor's degree programme locally or abroad. The duration of study is between one to two years.

Is O level equal to Matric?

Simply put, the completion of O Levels is equivalent to the completion of Matric exams. In other words, it is the completion of the 9th and 10th classes. As matric students gear up for their 10th class exams, GCE students simultaneously undergo exam preparation for their final O Levels exams.

Is SPM same as O level?

SPM Grades A+ to C are equivalent to GCE 'O' Level Grades 1 to 6.

Is GCSE English equivalent to ielts?

GCSE English Language / English Literature

Equivalent to IELTS 6.0: C or 4 in GCSE English Language or GCSE English Literature. Equivalent to IELTS 6.5: C or 4 in GCSE English Language or GCSE English Literature. Equivalent to IELTS 7.0: B or 6 in GCSE English Language or GCSE English Literature.

Is GCSE free for adults?

Are GCSEs free for adults? Generally, no. While taking GCSEs for the first time is free for children in high school, adult GCSE courses are not free, and adults are required to pay for their GCSE education.

What can you do instead of GCSEs?

So, what are my options?
  • Stay at School, go to a College or Sixth Form and study full time courses.
  • Get a job and take a work related course alongside it such as an OCR National, BTEC, City and Guilds or other accredited course.
  • Be Self Employed but you will also need to do some accredited learning or training course.

Are GCSEs equivalent to a high school diploma?

High School Graduation Diploma is considered comparable to GCSE (grades A*-C / 9-4), for every Grade 12 level subject passed High School Graduation Diploma (with a minimum 3.0 GPA), plus three Advanced Placement (AP) Examinations at grade 3 or higher. This must include science, if applying for a science degree. We also ...

What qualifications are equivalent to GCSE English?

Functional skills level 2 maths and English are considered to be the closest equivalents to GCSE's and nearly all universities and higher education providers accept these as do most employers.

What is GCSE equivalent to in South Africa?

In South Africa, the O levels were replaced by the GCSE level. GCSE studies in any given subject immediately precede AS level work and a student must have passed his or her GCSE exams in any given subject to be allowed to proceed to the AS level.

How many GCSEs do you need to be a doctor?

If you want the short answer, here it is: In order to be able to become a Doctor, you will need at least 7 GCSEs, 5 of which will need to be at Grades 7-9. You will also need to have pass grades (at least) in Maths, English Language and either Triple (ideally) or Combined Science.