Is OCR Cambridge Nationals a GCSE?

Asked by: John Nikolaus  |  Last update: April 7, 2022
Score: 4.7/5 (65 votes)

Level 2 Cambridge National Certificate in ICT (120 GLH) - 1 GCSE grades C and above. The grades available are pass, merit and distinction.


OCR (Oxford, Cambridge and RSA) is a leading UK awarding body. We provide GCSEs and A Levels in over 40 subjects and offer over 450 vocational qualifications.

Are Cambridge Nationals GCSEs?

Our Cambridge Nationals are Level 1/Level 2 qualifications designed specifically for students aged 14 to 16. ... Cambridge Nationals are available in a range of engaging subjects that are equivalent in size to GCSEs and all subjects have been approved for inclusion on the 2024 performance tables.

What is the difference between GCSE and Cambridge National?

Cambridge Nationals is the new name of OCR Nationals. OCR Cambridge Nationals are exam-free alternatives to GCSEs and A Levels that have an engaging and practical approach to learning and assessment.

What is OCR qualification equivalent to?

1. What is this qualification worth? There are OCR Project Qualifications at Level 1 and 2. These are equivalent to a short course GCSE.

OCR Cambridge Nationals IT Jan 19 Part 1

35 related questions found

Is an OCR a BTEC?

BTEC qualifications are available at various levels on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). OCR Nationals are offered at levels 1 to 3. The RQF shows how different types of qualifications compare, in terms of the demands they place on learners.

Is OCR a Recognised qualification?

OCR Nationals are also recognised by UCAS at Level 3, so studying them can help you get into university. A Level 3 Certificate 'Pass' is worth one A-level grade E – or 40 UCAS points – ranging up to a Level 3 Extended Diploma, which is worth 3 A-level grade As, or 360 UCAS points.

Is a Cambridge National the same as a BTEC?

What are Cambridge Nationals? Cambridge Nationals are similar to BTEC Firsts, and are the newer version of the more widely known OCR Nationals. Cambridge Nationals have a strong vocational element, reflected in assessment tasks and practical work.

How are Cambridge Nationals grades?

The grades available are pass, merit and distinction. A pass has to be obtained in order to gain a qualification: Distinction - the highest grade available.

What is GCSE BTEC called?

BTEC Firsts are equivalent to GCSEs. They are a level 2 qualification. BTEC Nationals are equivalent to A levels. They are a level 3 qualification.

What is OCR Igcse?

OCR (Oxford, Cambridge and RSA Examinations) is an examination board that sets examinations and awards qualifications (including GCSEs and A-levels).

What type of qualification is a Cambridge National?

OCR National qualifications, now called Cambridge Nationals, are exam-free, vocationally related qualifications at levels 1 to 3 of the National Qualifications Framework1 that have an engaging and practical approach to learning and assessment.

What is a 5 equivalent to in GCSE?

Equivalent GCSE grades

Grade 5 is a 'strong pass' and equivalent to a high C and low B on the old grading system. Grade 4 remains the level that students must achieve without needing to resit English and Maths post-16.

Is Cambridge International OCR?

The standard between OCR A Levels and Cambridge International A Levels is the same, as Cambridge qualifications are aligned with OCR (our sister organisation and a leading UK exam board). ... Cambridge International A Levels offer a much wider range of subjects, for example the wide range of languages offered.

What does OCR mean in school?

The U.S. Department of Education Office for Civil Rights (OCR) is a federal agency with the responsibility of ensuring equal access to education through the enforcement of civil rights.

Is AQA same as OCR?

Key differences

AQA requires students to respond to one 19th, one 20th and one 21st Century unseen text. OCR requires students to respond to one 19th Century unseen text and three 20th or 21st Century unseen texts. OCR offer students a choice of writing questions on both papers. AQA offers a choice on just one.

What is M2 in GCSE grade?

Your result will be either a number i.e. 8 or a letter and number i.e. M2 (which means Merit Level 2). You will receive your final exam statement by post. GCSE English Language has an endorsed component covering spoken language.

How do BTEC grades compare to GCSE?

Level 2 BTecs, including BTec Firsts, are equivalent to GCSEs and are most commonly taken by people aged 14 to 16. Level 1 and 2 BTEC Tech Awards are equivalent to GCSE grades A to E, according to exam board Pearson. Level 2 BTec Firsts are roughly the same as GCSE Grades A* to C.

What is an A in GCSE now?

Grade 7 is the equivalent of a grade A. Grade 6 is the equivalent of just above a grade B. Grade 5 is the equivalent of in between grades B and C. Grade 4 is the equivalent of a grade C.

What is better GCSE or BTEC?

BTEC are referred to as vocational qualifications while GCSE are referred to as academic qualifications. They are not a bad option,but GCSEs are much preferred by universities and colleges.

What is the difference between vocational course and GCSE?

There are some subjects GCSE students have to take, including English and Maths. ... Most students take around 9 GCSEs or equivalent. In short, vocational qualifications are those that are practical and directly related to a specific job or career path. A vocation is just another word for a job or career.

What is the difference between GCSE and NVQ?

Just like BTECs, NVQs can be compared with GCSEs and A-Levels as follows: NVQ Level 1 equivalent – 3/4 GCSE grades D-G. NVQ Level 2 equivalent – 4-5 GCSE grades A*-C. ... NVQ Level 4 equivalent – Higher Education Certificate/BTEC.

What awarding body is GCSE?

In England and Wales, the following awarding bodies offer A levels and GCSEs: AQA (Assessment and Qualifications Alliance) CCEA (Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment) Pearson Edexcel.

What is the difference between OCR A and B?

Using the specification

The main difference between OCR A and OCR B (MEI) is the structure of the examinations. This means the majority of A Level Maths questions are appropriate for practice purposes, regardless of the specification you are following.

What is a BTEC general or national?

BTEC stands for the Business and Technology Education Council. BTECs are specialist work-related qualifications. ... There are over 2,000 BTEC qualifications across 16 sectors – they are available from entry level through to professional qualifications at level 7 (equivalent to postgraduate study).