What are the requirements of NAAC?

Asked by: Susie Kozey  |  Last update: June 29, 2022
Score: 4.1/5 (29 votes)

A high school diploma, or GED equivalent, is required as a prerequisite. The initial training requirement to obtain a NAAC certification is completion of the applicable online or live training course offered exclusively by NAAC that covers core knowledge topics with a quiz after each lesson (online only).

What is required for NAAC accreditation?

All the institutions intending to apply for Assessment and Accreditation by NAAC need to mandatorily upload the information on All India Survey on Higher Education (AISHE) portal. AISHE code (reference number) is one of the requirements for Registration.

What are the 7 criteria for NAAC?

As per NAAC assessment relies on the following set of 7 criteria.
  • #1: Curricular Aspects. ...
  • #2: Teaching, Learning, and Evaluation. ...
  • #3: Research, Innovation, and Extensions. ...
  • #4: Infrastructure and Learning Resources. ...
  • #5: Student Support and Progression. ...
  • #6: Governance, Leadership, and Management.

What are the documents required for NAAC?

Documents to be submitted
  • Latest Affiliation letter from the Affiliating University.
  • Latest Recognition/approval letter from Statutory Regulatory Authority (SRA) like AICTE, MCI etc...
  • UGC 2f and 12(B) recognition certificate along with latest Plan General Development Grant release letter from UGC.

What is the minimum grade for NAAC accreditation?

The University Grants Commission has mandated Universities, Colleges to have NAAC accreditation with a minimum score of 2.5 by 2022.

Best Practice | Criterion 7 NAAC | How to identify Best Practice of your Institute |

16 related questions found

Is NAAC compulsory?

5. Is Assessment and Accreditation by NAAC mandatory? notification dated 19th January 2013, has made it mandatory for Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) to undergo accreditation.

Is NAAC and UGC same?

National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) was established by the UGC in September 1994 at Bangalore for evaluating the performance of the Universities and Colleges in the Country.

What means NAAC?

About NAAC. The NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) conducts assessment and accreditation of Higher Educational Institutions (HEI) such as colleges, universities or other recognised institutions to derive an understanding of the 'Quality Status' of the institution.

How do I start NAAC?

Login to the portal, fill the IIQA (Institutional Information for Quality Assessment) form. Pay the IIQA Fee Online. Submit the necessary documents in the right format. The Accreditation body validates the documents and passes the decision usually within 15 days from the date of the registration.

How can I get good grades in NAAC?

How Can You Improve Your NAAC Ranking?
  1. The NAAC accreditation process enables HEIs to - ...
  2. Guidelines of NAAC. ...
  3. Follow Data Validation & Verification guidelines. ...
  4. Collect accurate data from all sources & maintain data in required formats. ...
  5. Identify where you are lagging with BI Tools. ...
  6. Compliance-related reports.

What Does criteria 6 of NAAC include?

Criterion 6 - Governance, Leadership and Management.

Why is NAAC necessary?

NAAC accreditation determines the quality of the institute, in terms of education, faculty, research, infrastructure, etc. and gives confidence to students that the institute they are selecting is providing the best services. It gives instant recognition to an institute as credible and increases the admissions.

What is the name of criteria III?

Criteria 3- Research, Innovations and Extension.

Is NAAC a grade good?

NAAC Grading System

Higher learning institutes in India are graded for each key aspect/ parameter under four different categories such as 'A', 'B', 'C', and 'D'. The NAAC grade denotes the performance of institutes such as very good, good, satisfactory, and unsatisfactory.

How do I join the NAAC?

35 years, relaxable by five years for employees of central and state government and autonomous bodies and universities Essential (1) Persons with good academic record with first or high second class Masters Degree in the relevant field or an equivalent degree of a foreign university; AND A Doctorate of an Indian or ...

What is UGC and NAAC?

UGC is University Grants Commission whereas NAAC is National Assessment and Accreditation Council. UGC approves a College or University whereas NAAC accredits the programs offered in the University or institute. NAAC is an accreditation body, which comes under the University Grants Commission of India.

Who is chairman of NAAC?

Prof. M. Jagadesh Kumar obtained his MS(EE) and PhD(EE) degrees from the Dept of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

Is NAAC a statutory body?

Is NAAC a statutory body? No, it is not a statutory body.

Which is better NAAC or Aicte?

If it is an institute offering under graduate or post graduate program in Science, Arts, Commerce or Education then NAAC would be better.

What is the full form of Aicte?

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) was set up in November 1945 as a national-level Apex Advisory Body to conduct a survey on the facilities available for technical education and to promote development in the country in a coordinated and integrated manner.

Which is better NAAC or NBA?

ANSWERS (2) NAAC certifies institutions whereas NBA accredits the programmes run by the institutions. ISO certification tells about the quality management system in college. NAAC certifies institutions whereas NBA accredits the programmes run by the institutions.

Which criteria has highest weightage in NAAC?

The largest criterion is the teaching learning process having 35% share. Focus is given to academics to ensure good learning takes place.

What is metrics in NAAC?

In short, qualitative metrics are one of the main components of the Self Study Report (SSR), based on which the NAAC's grading is determined. They are mainly to elicit qualitative responses as a standard of measurement from higher education institutions. In simple terms, Metrics are equivalent to Questions.

How many best practices should an institution report in NAAC?

Description of at least two institutional best practices (as per NAAC format: Title of the practice, Objectives of the practice, the context, the Practice, Evidence of success, and Problems encountered and resource required.

What is NAAC Iqac?

About IQAC

As per National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) guidelines every accredited institution should establish an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) as a post-accreditation quality sustenance measure.